Bookmark and Share

46th Yakima Speedway Apple Cup Day 1

April 15, 2012

For Immediate Release:YakimaSpeedwayMedia Relations


Longton to lead field for 46thAnnual Apple Cup at Yakima Speedway

Yakima, WA (April 14, 2012)-Mike Longton nailed a fast-time of 18.61-sec. and brought home a win in his qualifying heat to earn the pole for Sunday's 46thAnnual Apple Cup presented by Columbia Asphalt at Yakima Speedway. Defending speedway champion, Owen Riddle, will start to Longton's outside with Garrett Evans, Pete Harding and Shane Mitchell rounding out the top-5 starting positions.


Racing in the two qualifiers was low-key with only Jesse Brown suffering significant damage as a result of an incident in turn No.4 near the midway point of his qualifying event.


A strong group of cars in five divisions of action will be part of Sunday's finale with opening ceremonies set for 1 p.m. Tickets are available at the main gate beginning at 11 a.m.


46th Annual Apple Cup Day 1 Results-

Pure Stock

Fast Time- Rob Allen

A Dash Winner- Chris Marang

B Dash Winner- CodyDenton

A Heat Winner- Tim Hitchcock

B Heat Winner- MikeDenton



Fast Time- Buck Noel Jr.

A Dash Winner- LucasValdez

B Dash Winner- Kyler Conduf

A Heat Winner- Chris VanAmburg

B Heat Winner- Ed St. Mary


Street Stock

Fast Time- Kim Wennerberg

A Dash Winner- Chris Hart

B Dash Winner- Randy Pugh

A Heat Winner- Kelly Hellewell

B Heat Winner- Rick Villyard


INEX Legends

Fast Time- Rick McNeil

A Dash Winner- Duane Swanson

B Dash Winner- Jesse Branham

A Heat Winner- Duane Swanson

B Heat Winner- Jesse Branham


Late Models

Fast Time- Mike Longton

A Dash Winner- JC Wofford

B Dash Winner- Giles Thornton

Qualifying Heat 1 Winner- Mike Longton

Qualifying Heat 2 Winner- Owen Riddle





46th Annual Apple Cup presented by Columbia Asphalt Starting Line-up

  1. Mike Longton
  2. Owen Riddle
  3. Garrett Evans
  4. Pete Harding
  5. Shane Mitchell
  6. Taylor Riddle
  7. Naima Lang
  8. Erick Hargraves
  9. Brent Harris
  10. JC Wofford
  11. Christopher Kalsch
  12. Dan Obrist
  13. Alex Kerslake
  14. Rick Suran
  15. Brian Levant
  16. Jon Hubbert
  17. Bart Hector Sr.
  18. Giles Thornton
  19. Jesse Brown
  20. Dave Smick




© 2008-2019 Yakima Speedway