Bookmark and Share


September 11, 2011




September 10th, 2011(Yakima Speedway, ASA Member Track, Yakima WA) – Sun Country Inn hosted last Saturday Night at the races and Greg Gargett was crowned champion in the H & H Furniture Pure Stock division with Chris Marang winning the title of Rookie of the Year.


Jake Maggard and Rob Allen started on the pole for the H & H Furniture Championship main event. From the drop of the green flag the race was on for the win and by lap 4 Greg Gargett had passed Jake Maggard for the lead. Jeff Liebert, winner of last weeks race, had moved into second and the two put on an exciting show racing side by side for several laps while the battle for third between Jake Maggard, Chris Morrison, Joe Estep and Chris Marang was heating up.


The first caution came out when Rob Allen spun out in turn four. On the restart Jeff Liebert and Greg Gargett battled again for position and by the completion of lap 9 Jeff Liebert was the new race leader followed by Greg Gargett, Jake Maggard, Joe Estep and Mike Denton.


Drivers Jake Maggard, Chris Morrison and Joe Estep raced hard for third place and came into lap traffic. By lap 15 Joe Estep was able to pas Chris Morrison for 4th and started to work on Jake Maggard.


At the half way point, Jeff Liebert was able to stretch out his lead and would not be challenged again for the win going on to make it two in a row followed by Greg Gargett, Jake Maggard, Joe Estep, Chris Morrison, Mike Denton and Chris Marang.


Mike Hill won the Sun Country Inn Burger Ranch Sportsman main event followed by Buck Noel Jr and last weeks main event winner Lucas Valdez who also set a new track record in qualifying. Mike Hill also won the A Trophy dash and his heat race. Morgan Morrison won the B Trophy dash and Allen Reid the first heat race.


Greg Gargett pulled double duty also racing in the CWI Security and EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornet division in which he claimed the championship in 2010.  Greg set fast time and won the main event followed by Josh Washington, Kyle Wade, Jesse Eaton and Jeff Ball.


The Wild and Crazy Mel’s Diner Bump To Pass is always exciting and last nights race didn’t disappoint. Yakima Speedway staff surprised the division in the main event by changing the track layout that would include figure eight turns at each end of the front stretch. Racers didn’t know at the end of each turn if they would hit another car going into the turn. Fans saw the most heart stopping moves, escapes and crashes. Wes Heigh won the main event followed by Donnie Stevens, Todd Nunn, Kellie Zacharias and Dennis Clause.


Next week Yakima Speedway will host Championship Night next Saturday September 17th featuring the Yakima Speedway Super Late Models, Burger Ranch Sportsman, CWI Security & EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornets and Mel’s Diner Bump To Pass. Gates open @ 4pm, opening ceremonies at 6pm.


SAVE THE DATE 24TH ANNUAL FALL CLASSIC OCT 1ST & 2ND. GO TO for details and registration



© 2008-2015 Yakima Speedway Increase your visibility with Invisible Ink