Bookmark and Share

Father & Son Win with Vanamburg Power

May 10, 2010

Yakima Speedway, Yakima Washington May 8th, 2010- The father and son team of Team VanAmburg showed incredible determination and speed at the Yakima Speedway Saturday Night showcase.


Mike VanAmburg came out on Saturday Night with the intent on bringing home the first place trophy in the Tire Center Super Street division but on the way to that honor, he also broke the track record with a fast time of 21.070 in his 1988 Monte Carlo SS. “I knew that I was going to have a good car, we just put in a new motor this past week and during practice I was able to maneuver the car anywhere on the track that I needed to” said Mike VanAmburg.


 In a race that began with a heart stopping accident at the drop of the green flag, Mel Patnode from Selah would find himself out of control along the front stretch wall in an accident that would bring out the red flag before completing lap one of the Main Event. Unhurt and unable to continue, the rest of the field would line up for a complete restart. Andy Beaman who started on the pole jumped out to claim the early lead and was able to maintain the lead until lap 10 when Mike VanAmburg who had fast time and a new track record, began the challenge for the number 1 position. The two cars raced side by side through turns three and four and would come together when a tire blew on the number 3 Chevrolet of Andy Beaman causing both cars to spin and sending Beaman into the pits going down several laps and VanAmburg to the back of the field. Andy would be able to come back out to compete going on to finish in the fourth position. Dusty John from Moxee, who won the A trophy dash earlier in the evening, would be the new race leader but the fast car and determination of driver  Mike VanAmburg would not be in the back for long charging through the field he would regain the lead by lap 19 and would go on to win the Yakima Speedway Tire Center Super Street Main Event.


Chris VanAmburg, son of Mike VanAmburg, would also put on an action packed racing performance in his 1978 Camaro during the Yakima Speedway Burger Ranch Sportsman Main Event. Starting on the outside pole of Yakima’s Don Klang, the entire field of cars provided the fans with some of the best racing action of the evening. Contenders, Don Klang, Ron Morton, Mike Hill, Rich Peters, Chris VanAmburg and Fast Time qualifier Tony Huffines would trade positions and paint until Chris VanAmburg and Tony Huffines would pull away from the field and find themselves racing through traffic to eventually end up first and second in the 35 lap main event.


Earlier in the evening the H&H Furniture Pure Stocks would find 14 year old Kyler Conduff from Gleed, who earlier in the evening claimed his first A Trophy dash win, on the pole for the 25 lap main event. Kyler Conduff would race and maintain the lead until lap 8 when Jay Younker from Selah, last weeks winner, would try to make a pass in turn three but would make contact and cause both cars to spin off the track. Kyler was able to get his car restarted and back on the lead lap while Jay Younker would receive a black flag penalty. Competitors Terry Cook, Joe Estep and Greg Gargett would race for several laps at the restart of the race but Terry Cook would race his 1970 Chevy Nova to the lead and the win of the H & H Furniture Pure Stock Main Event.


Greg Gargett who was fielding two cars and racing two classes would dominate the field in the CWI Security & EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornet Main Event. Greg Gargett would start on the outside of pole sitter Keith Erickson and would take the lead very quickly and never look back. The race for second between Josh Washington and Chris Marang followed by fast time qualifier Josh Parmentier would showcase the driving talents of these racers in one of the most entertaining, fan favorite races of the evening.


The Mel’s Diner Bump To Pass division that would be the last show of the evening would again be a wild and crazy crowd pleasing on the edge main event. Fast Time qualifier Donnie Stevens would get the lead and looked as if he was again destined for the winners circle, but in the last few laps of the race he would lose a tire and wheel and continue to race to the amazement of the fans. Cody Denton who started from the seventh position, Allen Reid and Ricky Bobby Trujillo would battle for the trophies and would see Cody Denton in the winners circle for his first Main Event win of the 2010 season.


HORNETS QUALIFYING- FAST TIME JOSH PARMENTIER- B-DASH- Tyler Breshears, Michael Emter, Eric Coble, Michael Beck- A DASH- Keith Erickson, Greg Gargett, Josh Parmentier, Chris Marang. HEAT RACE #1-Josh Washington, Julie Melville, Tyler Breshears, Michael Emter, Michael Beck, Eric Coble, Russell Lott-HEATRACE #2- Josh Parmentier, Greg Gargett, Tim Breshears, Keith Erickson, Daniel Morfin, Chris Morrison, Chris Marang MAIN EVENT Greg Gargett, Josh Washington, Chris Marang, Josh Parmentier, Keith Erickson, Tim Breshears, Tyler Breshears, Chris Morrison, Eric Coble, Daniel Morfin, Julie Melville, Michael Beck, Michael Emter. 


BUMP TO PASS QUALIFYING- FAST TIME DONNIE STEVENSBUMP TO PASS- B-DASH- Joe Stevens, Wes Heigh, Ben Briggs, Jerry Looney BUMP TO PASS A-DASH-Allen Reid, Donnie Stevens, Bobby A. Trujillo, Wildman Rick Hargraves. HEAT RACE #1- Robert Albert, Wes Heigh, Ben Briggs, Eddie Abrams, Jerry Looney, Joe Stevens HEAT RACE #2 Bobby A. Trujillo, Cody Denton, Donnie Stevens, Peppoe Rojas, Allen Reid Rick Hargraves MAIN EVENT-Cody Denton, Allen Reid, Bobby A. Trujillo, Robert Albert, Wes Heigh, Rick Hargraves, Jerry Looney, Donnie Stevens, Eddie Abrams, Peppie Rojas, Ben Briggs, Joe Stevens


PURE STOCKS QUALIFYING- FAST TIME JAY YOUNKER B-DASH-Greg Gargett, Tyson Richter, Derek Raptcheff, Rob Allen A-DASH Kyler Conduff, Joe Estep, Jay Younker, Terry Cook

HEAT RACE #1- Jay Younker, Joe Estep, Greg Gargett, Kyler Conduff, Tyson Richter, Derek Raptcheff, Rob Allen, Terry Cook- MAIN EVENT-Terry Cook, Joe Estep, Greg Gargett, Kyler Conduff, Rob Allen, Derek Raptcheffd, Jay Younker, Tyson Richter


SPORTSMAN QUALIFYING- FAST TIME JASON HUFFINES B-DASH Terry Taylor, Don Klang, Chris Richter JR, Jeremy Mullins A-DASH Mike Hill, Chris VanAmburg, Jason Huffines, Rich Peters HEAT RACE #1-Morgan Morrison, Bobby Steward JR, Kyle Wade, Don Klang, Chris Richter JR, Jeremy Mullins, Terry Taylor HEAT RACE #2 Rich Peters, Chris VanAmburg, Ron Morton, Mike Hill, Ed. St. Mary, Jason Huffines, Matt McDougal MAIN EVENT Chris VanAmburg, Tony Huffines, Mike Hill, Rich Peters, Ron Morton, Ed St. Mary, Don Klang, Chris Richter JR, Jeremy Mullins, Bobby Stewart JR, Morgan Morrision, Kyle Wade, Terry Taylor, Matt McDougal



SUPER STREET A-DASH Dusty John, Jimmy Zorrozua, Mel Patnode, Mike VanAmburg HEAT RACE #1- Andy Beaman, Mike VanAmburg, Dusty John, Mel Patnode, Jim Zorrozua MAIN EVENT- Mike VanAmburg, Dusty John, Jim Zorrozua, Andy Beaman, Kevin Taylor, Mel Patnode

© 2008-2015 Yakima Speedway Increase your visibility with Invisible Ink