Bookmark and Share

45th Anniversary

July 21, 2010



July 12, 2010 Yakima Speedway an ASA member track- Yakima Speedway hosted the 45th Anniversary Mid-Season championship on July 10th. This was a landmark event in which 4800 tickets were pre-sold to the public at a huge discount price. Tickets were printed in books of 25 and sold for $2.00 a pc. Gates opened early for face painting, micro-reality remote control races, jump castle, elephant ears, funnel cakes and more.

“It was an exciting night for my family” said track owner Ted Pollock. “Everyone was here to support the event and enjoy this night”. “It was nice to see so many of our regular weekly fans as well as so many new faces enjoy the venue and the best racing that the Northwest has to offer.”

The Yakima Speedway Super Late Model challenge series did not disappoint for the mid-season championship points battle.  All season Owen Riddle from Naches, WA. Has been able to maintain the #1 position in the points for the record $30,000 points fund and on Saturday night another win stretched the dominating drivers lead even more.

Portland Oregon’s Joey Tanner started the race on the pole for the anticipated main event and got out to an early lead. By lap 4 race veteran Pete Harding from Canada was making his move, already racing side by side with Yakima’s Erick Hargraves. Not to be outdone by his father, Shane Harding also from Canada was moving up through the field passing multiple cars. Erick Hargraves racing hard to keep his position spun out on lap 6 but was able to keep his car going and avoid the caution. On lap 9 we would see the first caution when Mike Longton spun in turn 2, this would allow Erick Hargraves to pull in the pits  and the rest of the field would restart on lap 10 with Joey Tanner still leading the race followed by Pete Harding, Shane Harding, Taylor Riddle, Ron Bemis and Owen Riddle. However the ill handling car of Erick Hargraves would again spin out on the restart and prompt another caution.

The Harding’s would put on another great show of hard core racing. They would continue to battle hard for position until Shane Harding trying to make the pass, drove in to hard, causing the car to slip and would bring out another caution on lap 16 and unfortunately finish his evening early. Erick Hargraves would again bring his car into the pits for a tire change. Joey Tanner was still leading Pete Harding, Taylor Riddle and Owen Riddle that had by this time now claimed the 4th position.  Mike Longton who had spun out in the early stages of the race had diligently moved his car into the 4th position by lap 41. On Lap 46 JC Wofford and Lenard Barthel would get together and this wreck brought out the red flag and park the cars for track clean up. It looked as if Joey Tanner was going to bring home another win but a fuel problem would end his night on lap 61.  This would open the door for Pete Harding and Owen Riddle but by lap 93 an oil leak caused from an earlier incident would cause the fast car of Pete Harding to spin off the track and end his hard fought battle for the win. Owen Riddle would not be challenged and would win the race and extend his points lead and the title of Mid Season Champion followed by, Mike Longton, Ron Bemis, Taylor Riddle, Marcus Maggard, Lenard Barthel, Erick Hargraves, Randy Marshall JR, Pete Harding, Joey Tanner, JC Wofford and Shane Harding.

On the podium for the Burger Ranch Sportsman division, Rich Peters claimed his first win of the season followed by Ron Morton and John Rose appearing for the first time in 2010.  Chris VanAmburg finished in the fourth spot and held on to the top spot in the points. Other finishers were Jason Huffines, Don Klang, Jerry Walker JR, Morgan Morrison, Terry Taylor, Darrell Tidrick, Ed St. Mary and Dan Wilson.

The H & H Pure Stock race also showcased some new faces and new winners with Rob Allen finishing first, Joe Estep second and Jay Younker in Third.  At the mid-way point Jay Younker is the point’s leader for this exciting class. Other finishers were Terry Cook, Kyler Conduff, James Harris and Greg Gargett.

In the CWI Security & EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornet division, Greg Gargett the current point’s leader and Josh Washington who have been trading wins all season put on an exciting race for the fans. Greg Gargett would come out the victor and Josh Washington finished in second but at this point in the season this is the championship battle to keep an eye on. Other finishers were Joe Roberts bringing home third place followed by Julie Melville, Wade Gantt, Dave Peterson, Eric Coble, Michael Beck and Chris Marang.

The Sea Galley Youth Hornets showcased the talent of Tyler Thorndike in first, Thomas Anderson in second and Clayton Mears in third.

Mel’s Diner Bump To Pass class is always the final show for the evening and it appears that they like to save the best for last. This crowd pleasing wild show is a fan favorite. Dominate Donnie Stevens claimed another win, followed by Joe Stevens, Julie McAlpine, Allen Reid, Ben Briggs, Cody Denton, Mike Parmentier and Eddie Abrams.

Next Saturday Night at the races will be July 24th, presented by Akland Pump and Irrigation and will be featuring the Yakima Speedway Super Late Challenge Series, Tire Centers Super Streets, H & H Furniture Pure Stocks, CWI Security & EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornets and the Mel’s Diner Bump To Pass. For more information please go to


© 2008-2019 Yakima Speedway