Bookmark and Share


June 06, 2010

alt text



June 5th, 2010 (Yakima Speedway, ASA Member Track, Yakima WA)- WIX Filters and Federated Auto Parts featuring Race #4 of the Yakima Speedway Super Late Model Challenge Series presented by Yakima Implement concluded with the father and son team of Shane and Pete Harding from Canada scoring the top podium positions. Yakima’s Erick Hargraves would follow up with an impressive Third place finish.


“Yakima Speedway is definitely one of my favorite tracks” said Shane Harding, “To pass Pete Harding on the outside for the lead I believe is many racers dream, and to finish first and second together was amazing. Last race I left a lot on the table racing Joey Tanner for the win and then getting a flat tire with 3 laps left was very discouraging. Our team shared our setup with dad, well most of it anyway, so we were glad to see that he was able to finish second. This is my first season series main event win at Yakima and I am so thankful for the Super Late Model Challenge Series that Doug Bettarel, Local Business owners and the Yakima Speedway management team have put together. Yakima Speedway is showcasing some of the best racing talent, and our strategy will be to stay consistent against the season regulars like Ron Bemis and Erick Hargraves”.


 A 10 car invert put Hermiston’s Duke Langley on the pole for the 100 lap main event. By lap 3 Legendary Pete Harding would pass both Duke Langley and Ron Bemis for the lead with Shane Harding following close behind. Duke Langley who was having brake problems would go off the back stretch on lap 5 with the rest of the field narrowly avoiding a pile up. On lap 8 Fred Hall from Bellevue Washington would lose all power bringing out the caution and resetting the field. On the restart Erick Hargraves would aggressively pass cars on the outside and gain two positions to claim the third spot. Reigning Track Champion and current point’s leader Owen Riddle who started in the ninth position due to the invert, steadily made his way up through the pack to the 5th position but a racing incident with last race winner Joey Tanner would put both cars a lap down and they would finish 8th & 11th. Kelly Mann who broke track record on May 15th  but would later go on to blow a motor in race 3 ,set a new track record with a fast lap of 18.707 and finished in the fourth position along with first time competitor in the Yakima Speedway Super Late Model Challenge Series, Alex Kerslake rounding out the top 5.


In the Burger Ranch Sportsman race, Chris VanAmburg set a new track record with a 23.329 qualifying time. "A" Trophy Dash winner Mike Hill who started on the outside pole would claim the lead at the start of the race. The Sportsman division put on one of the most competitive shows and intense racing that fans have seen with hard charging, side-by-side racing that showcased an amazing field of talented drivers and fearless driving. Top five finishers include winner Mike Hill, Chris VanAmburg, Rich Peters, Ron Morton and Don Klang.


Jay Younker would claim another win in the H & H Furniture Pure Stock division after setting a fast time of 24.625 during qualifying. Joe Estep would start on the outside pole and would take the early lead. Greg Gargett who started third was racing for 5th position and would lose a freeze plug dropping fluid on the track and collecting both Derek Raptcheff and Rob Allen. Rob Allen would lose control, hit the safety tires and eventually end up on the passenger side door. Thankfully Rob Allen was not injured in the accident. Derek Raptcheff would go on to finish in third place.


Josh Washington and Greg Gargett were tied in the point’s battle going into the CWI Security and EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornet main event. Greg Gargett set fast time of a 16.939 during qualifying and Josh Washington who claimed the trophy in the A Dash would both drive exciting races. Chris Morrison started on the pole but Tim Breshears would claim the early lead followed by the fast car of Josh Parmentier. The two point’s leaders would race aggressively to gain position but the strategy of Josh Washington to use a lap car going three wide in the last turn earned him the win and the First Place Trophy. Greg Gargett, Keith Erickson, Chris Marang and Chris Morrison would round off the top five.


Undefeated Joe Roberts continued his winning streak claiming another win in the Youth Hornet Division along with a new track record of 17.069 and a "A "Trophy Dash Win. The 14 year old also started the Hornet main event and was doing great but a caution would not help his overheated brakes and he would not finish the main event. Clayton Mears took second, Tyler Thorndike who made his debut finished third followed by Ryan Trujillo.


For more information and to view the revised season schedule, please visit the new Yakima Speedway website at



© 2008-2015 Yakima Speedway Increase your visibility with Invisible Ink