Bookmark and Share

Marshall Jr, Noel Jr, Denton, Valcich, Morfin and Stevens win at Yakima Speedway August 17, 2013

August 22, 2013

Denton tops Pure Stock field at Yakima Speedway YAKIMA, Wash. (July 26, 2013)-Jack Anderson had been the driver to  beat at Yakima Speedway over the last three Pure Stock main events as  the veteran driver has the field chasing to the checkered flag each of  those races. On Saturday night a new face emerged in victory circle as  Mike Denton bested defending champion Chris Marang and Anderson for  the victory.
Denton, who won the night's B-Trophy Dash, moved from his second  starting position in the main to the lead in the early portion of the  race. Extending his lead near the midway point, he held off a fast  charging Marang who had Anderson in tow as the pair closed the gap  late. With a handful of laps to go Denton made his lead stick for the  victory as Marang and Anderson were unable to get by.
Also earning main event wins were Daniel Morfin (Hornets), Buck Noel  Jr. (Hobby Sportsman), Donnie Stevens (Bump to Pass), Randy Marshall  Jr. (Late Model Sportsman) and Mike Valcich (Mini-Stocks)
Valcich secured his main event win despite not being able to post a  time in qualifying due to an electrical issue with his Mini-Stock.  Josh Parmentier, who won the A-Trophy Dash after setting fast time,  gave Valcich a run for is money in the finale but came up just short  for the victory.
Joshua Henne, Barry Mueller and Owen Berglund rounded out the top-5 finishers.
Noel made it a clean sweep of the night's racing in the Hobby division  as he set fast time, posted a win in the A-Trophy Dash en route to his  victory over current points leader Morgan Morrison.
Don Klang, Trever Flora and Mike Hill ran third through fifth respectively.
Robbie Miller made a rare appearance at the famed half-mile and did  not disappoint as he set a new track record in Late Model Sportsman  qualifying, posted a second place effort in the trophy dash then  battled eventual main event winner Marshall Jr. for the victory with  the race coming down to the waning laps.
Jeremy Bales, Cody Walker (in only his second start in the division)  and Casey Merrill completed the top-5.
Stevens, who only runs a few races during the season with his Bump to  Pass car, started sixth in the main event, took over the lead on lap 9  when race leader James Butler made contact with the inside barrier  barrier ending his evening.  Stevens never looked back as he went on  to win followed up by Joe Stevens and Julie McAlpin.
Racing returns to Yakima Speedway, an ASA (American Speed Association)  sanctioned racing facility, on Aug. 31 and Sept. 1 with an action in  the Pure Stocks, Mini Stocks, Hornets & Bump To Pass divisions on  Saturday followed by the Sun City 125 for late models and the 3rd  Annual Hobby Sock Challenge on Sunday. For more information call  248-0647, log onto or follow along on the  tracks' Facebook page.
Yakima Speedway August 17, 2013 Results- Hornets:  Fast Time   Jeff Ball  16.899 A Dash: Kyle Wade, Paul Townsend, John Fortenberry, Jeff Ball B Dash: Daniel Morfin, AJ Rose, Cody Allen, Andy Stewart, Eric Coble Main Event: Daniel Morfin, Jeff Ball, AJ Rose, Cody Allen, Cody  Denton, John Fortenberry, Tim Edris, Paul Townsend, Eric Coble, Andy  Stewart   Bump To Pass:   Fast Time   Kellie Zacharias  16.897 A Dash: Joe Stevens, Julie McAlpin, Donnie Stevens, Kellie Zacharias B Dash: Todd Nunn, James Butler, Brad Coffey Main Event: Donnie Stevens, Joe Stevens, Julie McAlpin, Kellie  Zacharias, Todd, Nunn, James Butler, Brad Coffey   Mini Stocks:  Fast Time  Josh Parmentier  24.810 Dash: Josh Parmentier, Joshua Henne, Barry Mueller, Owen Berglund,  Cody Denton, Tyler Thorndike Main Event: Mike Valcich, Josh Parmentier, Joshua Henne, Barry  Mueller, Owen Berglund, Cody Denton, Tyler Thorndike   Pure Stocks:  Fast Time  Jack Anderson  23.955 A Dash: Chris Marang, Jack Anderson, Rob Allen B Dash: Mike Denton, Derek Raptcheff, Greg Stevenson Main Event:  Mike Denton, Chris Marang, Jack Anderson, Rob Allen, Greg  Stevenson, Derek Raptcheff   Hobby Sportsman:   Fast Time   Buck Noel Jr  23.320 A Dash: Mike Hill, Chris Morrison, Morgan Morrison, Buck Noel Jr, Trever Flora B Dash: Larry Norman Jr, Cody Denton, Jamison Armstrong, Zane Hitchcock Main Event: Buck Noel Jr, Morgan Morrison, Don Klang, Trever Flora,  Mike Hill, Cody Denton, Zane Hitchcock, Larry Norman Jr, Chris  Morrison, Jamison Armstrong   Late Model Sportsman:  Fast Time   Robbie Miller  19.656  NEW TRACK RECORD A Dash: Randy Marshall Jr, Robbie Miller, Jeremy Bales, Terry Cook B Dash: Coy Rogers, Cody Walker, Rich Peters Main Event: Randy Marshall Jr, Robbie Miller, Jeremy Bales, Cody  Walker, Casey Merrill, Rich Peters, Coy Rogers, Terry Cook

© 2008-2018 Yakima Speedway Increase your visibility with Invisible Ink