Bookmark and Share

Cody Allen scores first career victory at Yakima Speedway

July 29, 2013

Cody Allen scores first career victory at Yakima Speedway

YAKIMA, Wash. (July 26, 2013)-Cody Allen, a 14-year old second generation driver in the Hornet division, scored his first career main event victory at Yakima Speedway on Saturday night.

Allen, son of Pure Stock driver Rob Allen, nabbed the top spot in qualifying en route to the victory. Starting last on the grid the teen battled through traffic to assume the lead at lap 10 and never looked back in capturing the once in a lifetime victory.

Bobby Trujillo, Daniel Morfin, Jeff Ball and Paul Townsend rounded out the top-5 at the checkered flag.

Jack Anderson claimed his second consecutive victory in the Pure Stock division as he outlasted the hard charging Chris Marang. Rob Allen, Marang, Anderson and Mike Denton fought fiercely throughout the main event for positions with Marang and Allen making contact near lap 15. Marang would recover for a third place finish while Denton scored the runner-up position to Anderson.

Darrell Tidrick returned to the Speedway's victory lane in 2013, this time behind the wheel of a Late Model Sportsman as the son of Brad Tidrick brook the track record in qualifying the glided through the main event to wrap up his victory Randy Marshall Jr. and Cody Walker each took turns atop the leader board but would not be able to hold Tidrick back in the late going and settled for second and third place respectively.

Tidrick was not done visiting victory circle as he jumped into the Bump to Pass car qualified by Josh Aguirre and wheeled it to a win with Julie McAlpin running a strong second place in her return to Speedway action after taking much of the season off.

Joe Stevens, Todd Nunn and Kellie Zacharias rounded out the top-5 running order.

Buck Noel Jr. earned top honors in Hobby Sportsman qualifying then back it up with a win in the A-Trophy Dash. During the main event Noel and Kyler Conduff showed the strength of their cars as the hung around the front of the field while Rich Peters, who arrived in time to start in the back of the main event, patently worked his way through the division's field of cars to take over the top spot late in the finale.

Noel and Peters would make contact battling for the lead with Noel being sent to the rear of the field on the restart. The defending division champion battled back through the pack to claim the third place position just behind Conduff and Peters.

Mike Valcich made it a clean sweep of the night's racing in the Mini-Stock division as he topped the field in qualifying, earned the A-Trophy Dash victory then went out and set a torrid pace to claim the main event.

Joshua Henne and Josh Parmentier put up a fight to stay with Valcich but ran out of time at the end of the main event and settled for second and third place respectively.

Racing returns to Yakima Speedway, an ASA (American Speed Association) sanctioned racing facility, on Aug. 3 with an action packed schedule of open-wheel vintage racers and Speedway regulars taking to the track. For more information call 248-0647, log onto or follow along on the tracks' Facebook page.

Yakima Speedway July 26, 2013 Results-

Hornets: Fast Time Cody Allen 17.347

B Dash: Andy Stewart, John Fortenberry, Eric Coble, Tim Edris, Gary Carpenter

A Dash: Paul Townsend, Bobby A Trujillo, James Norman, Cody Allen, Daniel Morfin

Main Event: Cody Allen, Bobby A Trujillo, Daniel Morfin, Jeff Ball, Paul Townsend, Gary Carpenter, Eric Coble, John Fortenberry, Andy Stewart, James Norman

Bump To Pass: Fast Time Josh Aguirre 16.849

B Dash: Todd Nunn, Andy Aper, Josh Reiners, Tacoda Rojas

A Dash: Julie McAlpin, Kellie Zacharias, Joe Stevens

Main Event: Darrell Tidrick, Julie McAlpin, Joe Stevens, Todd Nunn, Kellie Zacharias, Josh Reiners, Andy Aper, Tacoda Rojas

Mini Stocks: Fast Time Mike Valcich 24.782

B Dash: Ryan Scott, Josh Reiners, Owen Berglund

A Dash: Mike Valcich, Joshua Henne, Josh Parmentier

Main Event: Mike Valcich, Joshua Henne, Josh Parmentier, Ryan Scott, Owen Berglund, Josh Reiners

Pure Stocks: Fast Time Rob Allen 23.854

B Dash: Greg Stevenson, Mike Denton, Derek Raptcheff

A Dash: Jack Anderson, Chris Marang, Rob Allen

Main Event: Jack Anderson, Mike Denton, Chris Marang, Greg Stevenson, Derek Raptcheff, Rob Allen

Hobby Sportsman: Fast Time Buck Noel Jr 23.286

B Dash: Cody Denton, Morgan Morrison, Trever Flora, Larry Norman Jr, Josh Reeves

A Dash: Buck Noel Jr, Kyler Conduff, Chris Morrison, Randy Hitchcock, Rich Peters

Main Event: Rich Peters, Kyler Conduff, Buck Noel Jr, Chris Morrison, Randy Hitchcock, Trever Flora, Larry Norman Jr, Don Klang, Cody Denton, Morgan Morrison, Josh Reeves

Late Model Sportsman: Fast Time Darrell Tidrick New Track Record 19.967

Dash: Cody Walker, Randy Marshall Jr, Terry Cook, Tim Breshears, Darrell Tidrick

Main Event: Darrell Tidrick, Randy Marshall Jr, Cody Walker, Terry Cook, Tim Breshears

© 2008-2019 Yakima Speedway