Bookmark and Share

Yakima Speedway Season Opener

May 05, 2013


For Immediate Release: Yakima Speedway Media Relations


YAKIMA, Wash. (May 4, 2013)-Yakima Speedway kicked off its 2013 regular season schedule with racing, fan participation and a night of action on the famed half-mile.


Earning main event victories were Chris VanAmburg (Sportsman), Nathan Voyles (Hornets), Chris Marang (Pure Stocks), Joe Stevens (Bump to Pass) and Kyler Conduff (Late Model Sportsman).


As part of the night's festivities fan interaction choose the winners of the track's 2013 Best Appearing Car in each of the divisions. Jeff Ball was named the winner in the Hornet class with Conduff (LMS), Kelli Zacharias (Bump to Pass), Mike Denton (Pure Stocks) and Buck Noel Jr. (Sportsman) also chosen by the crowd.


Voyles jumped out to an early lead in the Hornet main event as Ball and John Fortenberry gave chase. With Voyles quickly lapping cars in the field, Ball and Fortenberry battled for second past the race's midway point. Roger Olin brought out the night's final yellow just as the leaders approached the white flag with Voyles out front to claim the win and Ball holding off Fortenberry at stripe for second.


Marang picked up where his championship season left off in 2012 as he ran to the win in the Pure Stock division. Moving through a three-wide battle exiting turn No. 2, Marang overtook John Raney for the lead as lap two got underway. Mike Hill, Jack Anderson, Mike Denton and Rob Allen were also in the mix during the early portion of the main event. Marang stayed strong throughout the night and held off Raney for the win with Anderson having a strong run as well for a third place finish.


Mike Hill and Mike Denton rounded out the top-5.


Defending Sportsman champion, Buck Noel Jr., looked to get his regular season off to a strong start in the main event but the talk of the night was Apple Cup winner Chris VanAmburg who earned fast time with a new track qualifying record, ran second to Hill in the trophy dash and set the stage for a potential back-to-back victory when the green flag dropped in the main.


Noel took the lead on lap 4 as he kept the hard-charging Don Klang at bay. VanAmburg charged to Noel's bumper by lap 8 then bested the defending champion on a cone restart for the lead as lap 10 began. Morgan Morrison showed the strength in his Chevrolet as he put pressure on Noel for second as the race moved to its final stage. Morrison overtook Noel in the late going for second as VanAmburg drove away from the pair for the victory.


Front row starter, Trevor Flora, picked up fourth place with Chris Morrison rounding out the top-5.


Joe Stevens showed he is ready to battle defending champion and the night's fast time winner Josh Aguirre and the rest of the Bump to Pass field for a championship in the new season as he picked up a win in the night's A-Trophy Dash and followed it up with a main event victory over Todd Nunn and Kelli Zacharias.


Randy Marshall Jr. lowered his own track qualifying record for the Late Model Sportsman division with a lap of 19.978-sec. Marshall went onto victory in the trophy dash setting up a chance to make it a clean sweep of the night's racing as the main event took the green flag.


Kyler Conduff took an early lead as Marshall cleared Coy Rogers for second then worked with Conduff to streak away from the field. Racing down the front stretch, Marshall began to apply pressure to Conduff for the lead as the pair raced side by side. Spinning off turn No. 2, Marshall was forced to give up second to Rogers with Casey Merrill rounding out the top-3 on the lap 15 restart. Marshall charged back to Conduff's rear bumper over the next three laps setting the stage for a first-place battle as the event closed towards the checkers. Despite the pressure Conduff kept Marshall at bay to picked up his first career victory in the division.


Racing returns to Yakima Speedway on May 18 with Bump to Pass, Hornets, Pure Stocks, Sportsman and the season debut for the Mini-Stocks. For more information call 248-0647, log onto or check out the track's Facebook page.


May 4, 2013 Yakima Speedway Results-


Late Model Sportsman-

Fast Time- Randy Marshall Jr. 19.978-sec. (new track record)

Trophy Dash- Marshall

Main Event-

Kyler Conduff

Randy Marshall Jr.

Coy Rogers

Casey Merrill

Terry Cook


Pure Stocks-

Fast Time- Jack Anderson 23.891-sec.

A-Dash- Mike Hill

B-Dash- Mike Denton

Main Event-

Chris Marang

John Raney

Jack Anderson

Mike Hill

Bobby Trujillo

Rob Allen

Derek Raptcheff

James Harris


Bump To Pass-

Fast Time- Josh Aguirre 15.996-sec.

A-Dash- Joe Stevens

B-Dash- Paul Townsend

Main Event-

Joe Stevens

Todd Nunn

Kelli Zacharias

Tacoda Rojas

Paul Townsend

Shannon Davis

Dennis Clouse

Jack Griffin

Josh Aguirre



Fast Time- Nathan Voyles 17.303-sec.

A Dash- Jeff Ball

Main Event-

Nathan Voyles

Jeff Ball

John Fortenberry

Todd Nunn

Robert Patton

Roger Olin



Fast Time- Chris VanAmburg 23.178-sec. (new track record)

A-Dash- Mike Hill

B-Dash- Randy Hitchcock

Main Event-

Chris VanAmburg

Morgan Morrison

Buck Noel Jr.

Trevor Flora

Chris Morrison

Don Klang

Randy Hitchcock

Cody Denton

Larry Norman

Mike Hill

© 2008-2019 Yakima Speedway