Bookmark and Share

Stibal tops West Coast Street Stocks Series field at Yakima Speedway

July 09, 2012

For Immediate Release: Yakima Speedway Media Relations

Stibal tops West Coast Street Stocks Series field at Yakima Speedway
Yakima, WA (July 7, 2012)-Andy Stibal held off a hard-charging Rich
Peters during the first 50 laps of the West Coast Street Stock Series
present by Chet's Truck Repair main event then outwitted Peters and
Kelly Hellewell after a mandatory race break for fuel and adjustments
that sprung the Wenatchee driver to his first career victory on the
top Street Stock series in the region. The race was the second stop of
the season at Yakima Speedway with their finale set for the 25th
Annual Fall Classic in late September.

Hellewell took advantage of Peters misfortune late in the race to move
by the Yakima native for the runner-up position with Bill Rutherford
scoring a strong fourth place finish and Ron Stewart rounding out the
top-5 running order.

The race went a mere three laps before going under the caution flag
due to a spin in turn No.1 with the night's next yellow flag flying
four laps later for a multi-car incident that collected points leader
Kim Wennerberg along with Randy Pugh, Josh Ingram and new track
qualifying record holder Bryon Goetz.

Andy Beaman, Chris Hart and Chad Hinkle would battle for the lead over
the next 10 laps with Hinkle making contact with Hart that allowed
Stibal to clear for the lead and shuffle Beaman back in the running

Peters and Hellewell were collected in the lap seven incident but were
able to pit and make repairs to their race cars. Each rejoined the
field at the tail-end when racing resumed. Staying on the lead lap and
working the cone restarts paid off for Hellewell and Peters as they
were able to move into the top-5 running order by lap 40 with Peters
pushing Stibal for the lead right to the break at lap 50.

During the final 25 laps Peters was unable to keep pace with Stibal's
Chevrolet and the superior handling off the corners. Late in the going
Peters was squeezed off the backstretch by a lapped car that cost the
winner of the WCSSS Apple Cup race a shot at another win in 2012 as
the Yakima driver was forced to rejoin the field mid-pack with
Hellewell zipping by for his best finish on the series.

Also picking up victories Saturday night at Yakima Speedway were Jeff
Ball (Hornets), Chris Marang (Pure Stocks), Dennis Clouse
(Bump-to-Pass) and Mike Valchich (Mini-Stocks).

For Ball and Marang their victories continue to add to strong points
leads in their respective classes as the second-half of the 2012
season looms. Clouse and Valchich each earned their first victories of
the 2012 season with Valchich's Mini-Stock win also coming in his
first-ever start in the division.

Cody Denton continues to lead the points standings in the Speedway
Mini-Stock division based on his runner-up finish to Valchich. Josh
Aguirre also maintained a lead in his chase for the Bump-to-Pass
championship based on strong sixth place finish in a rock'em sock'em
15-lap finale.

Yakima Speedway returns to action on July 28 with racing in the Burger
Ranch Sportsman, Sea Galley Bump to Pass, H&H Furniture Pure Stocks,
Speedway Mini-Stocks, Speedway Late Model Sportsman, and CWI
Security/EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornet divisions. For more information
log onto or the tracks page on Facebook. For ticket
and other information call the Speedway Hotline at (509) 248-0647.

July 7, 2012 Yakima Speedway Results-

CWI Security/EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornet Main Event
1) Jeff Ball
2) Bailey Broers
3) Robert Patton
4) John Fortenberry
Fast Time- Bailey Broers
A Trophy Dash- Jeff Ball

H&H Furniture Pure Stocks Main Event
1) Chris Marang
2) Rob Allen
3) Tim Hitchcock
4) Peppie Rojas
5) Kyle Wade
6) Eric Coble
7) Mike Denton
Fast Time- Chris Marang
A-Trophy Dash- Tim Hitchcock
B-Trophy Dash- Peppie Rojas

Speedway Mini-Stocks Main Event
1) Mike Valchich
2) Cody Denton
3) Josh Parmentier
4) Jesse Eaton
5) Joshua Henne
6) George Jankowics
7) Marcus Maggard
Fast Time- Mike Valchich
A-Trophy Dash- Josh Parmentier
B-Trophy Dash- Marcus Maggard

West Coast Street Stock Series Main Event
1) Andy Stibal
2) Kelly Hellewell
3) Rich Peters
4) Bill Rutherford
5) Ron Stewart
6) Todd Connell
7) Andy Beaman
8) Kenny Mullins
9) Chad Hinkle
10) Jim Franklin
11) Chris Hart
12) Morgan Morrison
13) Zach Beaman
14) Josh Childress
15) Buck Noel Jr.
16) Josh Ingram
17) Kim Wennerberg
18) Bryon Goetz
19) Randy Pugh
Fast Time- Bryon Goetz 21.173 sec. (New Track Record)
A-Trophy Dash- Josh Ingram
B-Trophy Dash- Kelly Hellewell
C-Trophy Dash- Bill Rutherford

Sea Galley Bump-to-Pass Main Event
1) Dennis Clouse
2) Tim Sutton
3) Shannon Davis
4) Todd Nunn
5) Kellie Zacharias
6) Josh Aguirre
7) Jason Schick
8) Alex Marquis
9) Tacoda Rojas
Fast Time- Josh Aguirre
A-Dash- Josh Aguirre
B-Dash- Tim Sutton
© 2008-2018 Yakima Speedway Increase your visibility with Invisible Ink