Bookmark and Share

Seven division winners at Yakima Speedway on full-moon Saturday night Yakima

May 07, 2012

For Immediate Release: Yakima Speedway Media Relations

 Seven division winners at Yakima Speedway on full-moon Saturday night Yakima, WA (May 5, 2012)-The full-moon action at Yakima Speedway did not disappoint fans or racers as seven divisions took to the track with Chris Marang's first-ever victory in the H&H Furniture Pure Stock division leading the way.

 Others picking up main event wins included Cody Walker, Josh Aguirre, James Norman, Buck Noel Jr., Kevin Bell and Adam Bryan.

Marang, who moved up last season from the track's Hornet division, has had the top speed in qualifying the last two starts with solid runs in each of those main events. Using a steady approach to move through the field, Marang took the lead with a strong pass to the outside exiting turn No. 4 then held off a hard-charging Rob Allen and Jeff Wilkinson.

Allen had been chasing his third consecutive main event victory but was collected in an incident entering turn No.3 that sent the driver of the No. 23 Chevrolet off the track within the first handful of laps. Allen recovered and re-entered the track in the middle of the running order before moving back to the runner-up spot late in the going.

 The track's new Mini-Stock division doubled its car count from the week prior with several Tri-Cities drivers making the trek to the famed half-mile. One of those, Adam Bryan, made the most of his first-ever visit to the famed Speedway as he swept the night's action with wins in the trophy dash and a fast time award to go along with his main event victory.

 CWI Security/EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornet drivers spent much of their night giving chase to James Norman who debuted his No. 10 Honda for the first time this season. Posting a strong run in qualifying just behind Casey Chambers, it was Norman who nabbed a win in the trophy dash en route to a strong performance in the main event.

Defending Burger Ranch Sportsman champion, Buck Noel Jr., claimed his second main event victory in three 2012 starts. Returning to victory circle one week after a runner-up finish has boosted Noel's chances of a repeat championship as he leads the points race in the early going of the 2012 season.

Aguirre continued his winning ways in the Sea Galley Bump-to-Pass with his second week of clean sweeping action that netted the fan favorite fast time, a win in the trophy dash and a thrilling last-lap pass for the win heading down the backstretch over front runner Joe Stevens.

 Cody Walker made his debut in the Northwest Pro 4 Late Model division with an impressive effort for the 14-year old's first start in a stock car after several years of quarter-midget racing. Earning fast time and a win in the trophy dash was just the start for the youngster who battled from the back of the running order to the front on two occasions to grab the lead from eventual runner-up CJ Hawley. The division runs under the rules package of the popular Northwest Pro 4 Alliance which kicks off its season later this month. Many of the drivers in Saturday's race used the event as a test for their season-opener with Scott and Jeff Raver also in action this weekend.

 Truck racing invaded Yakima Speedway for the first time in 2012 as the Northwest Pro 4 Truck Series opened their season on the famed half-mile with a great turnout of racers and an exciting main event that saw several drivers take a run atop the running order. Opening the run for a 40-lap main event was past champion, Jason Majors, who moved his No. 22 Caraway Fitness Chevrolet to the top-spot near the quarter-point of the night and began to check out on the field. Majors held to the top spot with less then 15 laps to go before slowing on the backstretch and taking the hard left hand turn for the pits with motor issues. That moved Mike Wiley to the top spot but he also suffered misfortune with a tire issue that brought eventual winner Kevin Bell to the front with less then seven laps to go. Bell held off a strong run from Doug Wilkinson over the final laps for his first series victory of the year.

 Yakima Speedway returns to action on May 19 featuring the stars of the Speedway's famed late model division running their first Saturday night race of the season. Also racing will be the Sportsman, Pure Stocks, Mini-Stocks, Hornet and Bump-to-Pass divisions. For more information log onto or the tracks page on Facebook. For ticket and other information call the Speedway Hotline at (509) 248-0647.

 May 5, 2012 Yakima Speedway Results- CWI Security/EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornets Main Event 1) James Norman 2) Jeff Ball 3) Michael Beck 4) Roger Eaton 5) Merle Stiltner 6) Casey Chambers Fast Time- Casey Chambers A Trophy Dash- James Norman B Trophy Dash- Michael Beck H&H Furniture Pure Stocks Main Event 1) Chris Marang 2) Rob Allen 3) Jeff Wilkinson 4) Joe Estep 5) Tim Hitchcock 6) Peppie Rojas 7) Chris Morrison 8) Kyle Wade 9) Harold Emmons Fast Time- Chris Marang A-Dash- Rob Allen B-Dash- Tim Hitchcock Burger Ranch Sportsman Main Event 1) Buck Noel Jr. 2) Terry Cook 3) Morgan Morrison 4) Allen Reid 5) Kyler Conduff 6) Don Klang 7) Derrick Denton 8) Ben St. Mary 9) Jeff Stevenson 10) Chris VanAmburg 11) Lucas Valdez Disqualified- Jerry Walker Jr. (failed post race inspection), Ron Morton (actions detrimental to racing) Fast Time- Jeff Stevenson 23.030-sec. (new track record) A-Dash- Kyler Conduff B-Dash- Don Klang NW Pro 4 Late Model Main Event 1) Cody Walker 2) CJ Hawley 3) Jeff Raver 4) Scott Raver Fast Time- Cody Walker Trophy Dash- Cody Walker Sea Galley Bump-to-Pass Main Event 1) Josh Aguirre 2) Joe Stevens 3) Dennis Clouse 4) Alex Marquis 5) Robert Albert 6) Shannon Davis 7) Wes Heigh 8) Todd Nunn DNS- Ben Briggs, Eddie Abrams Fast Time- Josh Aguirre A-Dash- Josh Aguirre B-Dash- Alex Marquis NW Pro 4 Truck Series Main Event 1) Kevin Bell 2) Doug Wilkinson 3) Aaron Greene 4) Mike Tipps 5) Mike Wiley 6) Jason Majors 7) Mike Nelson 8) JR Kelley 9) Josh Charles 10) Terry Warren Fast Time- Jason Majors A Trophy Dash- Kevin Bell B Trophy Dash- Doug Wilkinson Mini-Stock Main Event 1) Adam Bryan 2) Cody Denton 3) Mike Denton 4) Ken Ashley 5) Joshua Henne 6) George Jankowics 7) Jason Hall 8) Nathan Voyles DNS- Casey Chambers Fast Time- Adam Bryan 24.884-sec. (new track record) A-Dash- Adam Bryan B-Dash- George Jankowics

© 2008-2019 Yakima Speedway